Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

Return of the Jedi C64 conversion developed by Consult Computer Systems and published by Domark Ltd. in 1988.

Longplay Information

Author(s): MadMattyMadMatty
System: Commodore 64 / 128
Subtitle Language:
Additional Info: No information available
Publication Date: 21/01/2023
YouTube Release: No information available
Duration: 00:35:23
File Size: 121.60 MB (124516.00 KB)
Downloads: 17 downloads
File Links:

Archived Submission Thread


Player's Review

"The return of the Jedi completes the trilogy of games based on the STAR WARS films. Each one is a conversion of the Arcade game and return of the Jedi picks up the action of the movies where the rebel forces begin their attack against the Imperial Death Star.

In the first level you control Princess Leia on her Speederbike through the forest of Endor to save the Ewok village. You leave Leia there and go to another part of the forest to control Chewbacca's Scout Walker. There, Hans Solo is waiting to deactivate the shields protecting the Death Star.

On the second and third levels, you control Chewbacca and Lando Calrissian as he flies the Millennium Falcon. Lando flies close to the Death Star fighting off a mighty attack from the T.I.E. fighters. The Millennium Falcon enters the Death Star and travels down a dangerous tube towards the central reactor. Blast the reactor then turnaround to get away from the Death Star as it blows up."

The C64 game is a little rough even compared against the spectrum game due to being a single load. It can be quite glitchy and the collision detection is rarely in your favour. The game has eight levels and you can choose to start from levels one, three or five. You can receive a huge bonus for completing the first stage on a higher difficulty. The controls are quite slippery and holding a direction too long will cause you to fly across the screen in a second.

I play from level one in order to show the steady progression in difficulty. It is main the first and last stages that actually change where enemies appear on the map. At the top of the screen is a Bonus score. This is not an actual award but instead shows the number of points needed to receive an extra life and you can hold a maximum of 10. Completing all eight levels awards you with Jedi Knight status and a star on the high score table.

00:00:00 Title Music
00:01:55 Level 1
00:03:52 Level 2
00:08:10 Level 3
00:12:20 Level 4
00:17:00 Level 5
00:21:44 Level 6
00:26:05 Level 7
00:30:45 Level 8